The Dance Beneath my Bathroom Tiles!!

A Glimpse into Insect Grief….

Rubi Joshi
3 min readJul 13, 2023
Photo by Sixteen Miles Out on Unsplash

On a rainy morning, with storm clouds casting a dreary ambiance outside, as I prepared to start my day, a peculiar sight caught my attention. Two small insects, undoubtedly a result of the rain’s aftermath, were gathered near the lifeless body of their fallen comrade.

Curiosity piqued, I observed their bizarre yet emotional scene. The insects formed a perfect symmetrical circle around their deceased friend, taking turns to push it gently, one by one. After each push, they would continue their mournful procession around the lifeless insect, vibrating in the air as if expressing panic or grief. It was a stark contrast to the other tiny creatures that scurried around, going about their daily routines, oblivious to the scene before them.

Lost in their world, I watched for what seemed like an eternity. Never before had I contemplated that even the smallest beings had feelings. It made me reflect on my own existence, realizing that I too might be observed by some larger being, judging the intensity of my emotions based on my size. The irony was not lost on me.

After observing them for a long while, I felt compelled to do something. With great care and tenderness, I retrieved a tissue and gently lifted the lifeless insect, placing it outside my home. I couldn’t bring myself to wipe it down the drain; there was an unexplainable connection that had formed between us, even if they were unaware of it.

I turned my attention to the remaining insects, hoping to save them from a similar fate. However, my attempts proved futile. They darted around, seemingly unaware of the danger that surrounded them. Despite my efforts, I couldn’t catch them to set them free. With a heavy heart, I proceeded to clean the bathroom, hoping they had somehow managed to escape or find shelter from the impending deluge.

The reality of the world struck me in that moment. Just like those indifferent insects, most of us go about our lives, blissfully ignorant of the pain and suffering endured by others. The world carries on, indifferent to the individual struggles of its inhabitants. It was a somber realization, wrapped in the veil of dark humor.

As I finished cleaning the bathroom, I couldn’t help but wonder about the fate of those insects. Did they escape the waters, or did they succumb to the drowning currents? It remains a mystery. All I could do was offer a silent prayer, hoping that they found salvation and would be granted a fulfilling life in their next incarnation.

And so, with the echoes of their vibrating flight and the memory of their peculiar farewell dance lingering in my mind, I went out to greet the morning. The funeral in my bathroom had come to an end, leaving behind a profound sense of the interconnectedness of all life, no matter how big or small.

Photo by Patrick Pahlke on Unsplash

--

--

Rubi Joshi

✒️🌸Philosophy, Humor, Sci-Fi and Out-of-the-Box Facts Writer.🌸✒️ Open to contracts and projects. For Business Inquiries, contact: rubyjoshiofficial@gmail.com